March 1, 2015

JD McPherson / Dylan Pratt - Music Hall of Williamsburg - February 28th, 2015

In very different ways, JD McPherson and opening artist, Dylan Pratt gave a concert on Saturday night that seriously kicked ass.

Pratt's vocals reminded me of mixture of Chris Martin and the late Jeff Buckley. Though Pratt didn't have much to say between songs, his intricate guitar playing and intelligent lyrics spoke loud and clear.

As for JD McPherson, there's not  much to say except they're a great band.  They're fun to watch, fun to listen to, and definitely a band that would make Bo Diddley, Little Richard and Buddy Holly proud of their legacy.

Dylan Pratt

Dylan Pratt's Set List
1 Bricks
2 Honest Kind Of Luck
3 Still
4 Cripple Con
5 Sultan
6 Some Kind
7 Somewhere to Run

JD McPherson

JD McPherson's Set List
1 I Wish You Would
2 I Can’t Complain
3 Fire Bug
4 Bossy
5 It  Shook Me Up
6 Your Love (Is All That I’m Missing)
7 Abigail Blue
8 B.G.M.O.S.R.N.R.
9 You Must Have Met Little Caroline
10 Precious
11 Head Over Heals
12 Let the Good Times Roll
13 North Side Gal
14 Wolf Teeth


1 Rome Wasn’t Built A Day
2 Everybody’s Talking ‘Bout the All-American
3 It’s All Over But the Shouting

JD McPherson are:
JD McPherson - Vocals, Guitar
Jimmy Sutton - Upright Bass
Jason Smay- Drums
Ray Jacildo - Keys
Doug Corcoran - Saxophone, Guitar

October 12, 2014

Yelle / Lemonade - Irving Plaza - October 10, 2014

I really loved Yelle when I saw them in 2011 but I loved them even more this time around.  I thought the choreographed drumming was fun to watch and when both men came out from behind the drums to show off their boney butts with some “round the world,” action; it was cute and comical.  As for Julie Budet, she’s just a joy to watch.  I found it very amusing that she alternates after each song between English and French, bunching out  the words “Merci Beacoup!”  (enunciating Mer-Ci-Bea-Coup as if it were four words.)

Lemonade, who I've seen twice before, opened the show with high energy set that grew more powerful with each song.  Below are photos and set lists for both bands by order of appearance. 


Set List
3.Ice Water
4.Come Down Softly
5.Durutti Shore
6.Orchid Bloom
7.Big Changes
8. Big Weekend

Lemonade are:
Callan Clendenin (vocals),
Ben Steidel (synths, bass)
Alex Pasternak (drums, programming)


Set List
1. Unillusion
2. Comme Un Enfant
3. Chimie physique
4. À Cause Des Garçons
5   Je Veux Te Voir
6.  L’Amour parfait
7.  Dire qu'on va tous mourir
8. Jeune Fille Garnement
9.  Que Veux-Tu
10.  J'ai Bu
11.  Ba$$in
12.  Toho
13.  Safari Disco Club
14.  S'éteint Le Soleil

15.  Tristesse / Joie
16.  Complètement Fou

Yelle are:
Julie Budet  - Vocals
Jean-François Perrier - Drums
Franck Richard - Drums

February 28, 2014

Mayer Hawthorne / Quadron / DJ Kurse - Webster Hall - February 27, 2014

Mayer Hawthorne, and openers Quadron plus DJ Kurse, were nothing short of fabulous.  It was a great show from begininng to end. Here are photos from all three performances by order of appearance as well as the both band set lists.

DJ Kurse


Mayer Hawthorne

Mayer Hawthorne - vocals, guitar

Mayer Hawthorne's band AKA "The County" are:
Quentin Joseph – Drums
Joseph Abrams – Bass
Quincy McCracy – Keys
Christian Wunderlich – Guitar